12 Best Beaches in Texas (Ratings plus Reviews)

One of the most beautiful beaches in Texas

If you’re looking for a great beach to relax on in Texas, you’ll want to check out the top 12 beaches based on ratings and reviews. These beaches offer stunning views, plenty of activities, and ample opportunities to soak up the sun. So whether you’re looking for a secluded spot or a busy beach with something for everyone, you’ll find what you need here. Check out these world-class beaches today!

Top 12 Most Beautiful Beaches in Texas

One of the most beautiful beaches in Texas
One of the most beautiful beaches in Texas

Sylvan Beach Park

  • Address: 636 N Bayshore Dr, La Porte, TX 77571, United States
  • Map: Click here
  • Rating: 4.5 (8183)
  • Phone: +1 281-471-5705
  • Website: Link
  • Opening hours:
    Monday: 7:00 AM – 10:00 PM
    Tuesday: 7:00 AM – 10:00 PM
    Wednesday: 7:00 AM – 10:00 PM
    Thursday: 7:00 AM – 10:00 PM
    Friday: 7:00 AM – 10:00 PM
    Saturday: 7:00 AM – 10:00 PM
    Sunday: 7:00 AM – 10:00 PM
  • Reviews:
    Very nice and clean. You can sit on beach or on benches near the beach. Wonderful place for all ages and families. Lot of covered areas. Nice place for picnics and fishing. Really nice large playground too. Our first visit and we plan to return soon.
    ✭✭✭✭✭ By Daphne S (4 months ago)
    I had beach fever and it satisfied my craving. To see and feel the sand, the waves from the water, and a sighting of a dolphin. It was nice. People were friendly. Wasn’t a long ride from Cypress, TX which I was visiting. Worth goung. Had a great set up for a beach picnic with shelters. A long pier for fishing.
    ✭✭✭✭✭ By Gloria Moore (4 months ago)
    We went here to launch the boat. The park is clean the beach is nice and the.pier is great. It gets very busy on the weekends here,but it’s a nice safe place for a family outing. There is a bait store on site.
    ✭✭✭✭✭ By Gordon Fisher (5 months ago)
    Second time coming out to Sylvan Beach. It started off a little rainy, but that didn’t stop us or anyone for that matter and enjoying this beach. Perfect for families with little ones. There are red boundaries out in the water that ensure the your family stay within due bounds. If your looking for something fun and simple, Sylvan will not disappoint. Take note that there are no lifeguards on duty.
    ✭✭✭✭ By Todd Woodard (5 months ago)
    It’s a nice little beach park with lots of security. No swimming past the buoys and there are lifeguards. Bring sunscreen! There is no shade, unless you go really early and get one of the few covered tables. Sand is soft and buildable for castles and such. The restroom was as clean as can be expected on a busy weekend day.
    ✭✭✭✭✭ By Keri Taylor (5 months ago)

Galveston Beach

  • Address: 6285 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, TX 77551, United States
  • Map: Click here
  • Rating: 4.5 (3729)
  • Phone: +1 888-425-4753
  • Website: Link
  • Opening hours:
    Monday: Open 24 hours
    Tuesday: Open 24 hours
    Wednesday: Open 24 hours
    Thursday: Open 24 hours
    Friday: Open 24 hours
    Saturday: Open 24 hours
    Sunday: Open 24 hours
  • Reviews:
    I am so happy. This beach is beautiful. The sand is like powder and not gritty. The water isn’t so cold it shocks the system. There are chair/umbrella rentals for reasonable prices. Our fellow beach goers were courteous – not rudely playing loud music, placing their beach paraphernalia in front of us. It is a nice relaxing place to enjoy. Highly recommend.
    ✭✭✭✭✭ By Kate Kincaid (6 months ago)
    The best part of this beach is that there is basically no one here in the mornings during the week! It was a perfect place to walk. There is basically nothing for shelling, most of the shells are broken up because of the rough surf. The views are lovely. Swimming is strongly discouraged due to riptides. There are bathrooms every so often, lots of parking!
    ✭✭✭✭✭ By Rachel Iverson (9 months ago)
    We walked the beach and picked up seashells, watched the seagulls finding bits of food, paid a couple dollars to go out on a pier to take pictures. The sand is soft and fine. It gets churned up in the water and makes it cloudy… but its not unpleasant. More seashells than I have ever seen on a beach and I have been all over Hawaii, California, and Florida. They are fairly small, but there were a large variety of sand dollars, shells and coral to be found. We arrived at 10am on a Sunday and parked right on the seawall. Took a minute to figure out the parking app but it wasn’t expensive($4 for 2 hours I believe). But overall a great impromptu trip with my daughter to let her see the ocean. If we had small kids I would definitely bring a beach wagon and chairs to set up a place for our family to gather and to carry our gear/kids. We will be back!
    ✭✭✭✭✭ By Katie McDonald (9 months ago)
    The sea wall is a must see if you visit Galveston Island. It’s covered in restaurants shops parks and hotels. There’s more than enough to do and see. The people are awesome and the beach is almost always full and water is almost always warm. There are life guards during summer and events to keep people safe and the beach is always kept clean. Fishing is aloud of the jetties as well. There’s an amphibious tour ride and plenty of places to rent bikes and scooters. There’s also Pleasure Pier. One of the islands awesome attraction with a roller coaster that goes over 100 miles per hour. You gotta try this place out. You can’t visit the island without a trip to the Seawall.
    ✭✭✭✭✭ By Gavin Henderson (12 months ago)
    I was iffy about coming here at first with the kids due to past reviews but honestly it’s a beach I would highly recommend! We found a good amount of shells and the trash was at a minimum. Parking was easy and the beach attendant with the umbrellas/chairs was super helpful. Perfect stretch of beach to lounge, play in the water, fish, or shell hunt!
    ✭✭✭✭✭ By Kimberly Inge (a month ago)

Rockport Beach Park

  • Address: 319 Broadway St, Rockport, TX 78382, United States
  • Map: Click here
  • Rating: 4.7 (3005)
  • Phone: +1 361-729-6661
  • Website: Link
  • Opening hours:
    Monday: 6:00 AM – 11:00 PM
    Tuesday: 6:00 AM – 11:00 PM
    Wednesday: 6:00 AM – 11:00 PM
    Thursday: 6:00 AM – 11:00 PM
    Friday: 6:00 AM – 12:00 AM
    Saturday: 6:00 AM – 12:00 AM
    Sunday: 6:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Reviews:
    Great place to bring your kids and family. There is a cost to enter the park for $10 but its well worthy. There are many gazebos where you can bbq, and as well as kids playing areas . There are two set of volleyball nets. The bathroom has a nice shower area at the pavilion. There is an area at the end where is very calm. The place is not deep at all, so it’s very safe for kids.
    ✭✭✭✭ By Jaddiel Perez (4 months ago)
    Great park! They have a sandy beach with very few waves and current. It’s great for smaller kids. There are many covered picnic tables throughout as well as restrooms, showers, and all the seagulls you’d like to feed. It is $10 for the day or $40 for an annual pass.
    ✭✭✭✭✭ By Anthony Little (9 months ago)
    I really liked the Rockport Beach. I have been to Florida beaches a lot and they are beautiful, but you can’t compare Texas beaches to Florida beaches, geologically they were made differently. People were talking so much about the jellyfish at Rockport. They were not a problem unless you went clear out close to the drop-off. The water was clean and warm. It is very shallow for quite a ways which is great for the kiddos and parents to feel safer. 😀 We parked by the shower and toilet buildings which were great. They even have an outdoor shaded patio upstairs on the second building you can reserve and an inside room you can reserve as well for parties, receptions etc. The only issue we had was stepping on a fire ant nest at the edge of the parking lot and getting stung. We really had a good time otherwise. I think people just like to find something negative. It’s a great Texas beach.
    ✭✭✭✭ By Roberta Melone (5 months ago)
    I don’t want to leave a good review and end up with this area flooded with people but this is the best beach we’ve found on our trip down to Corpus Christi. Nice and quiet, semi clean water you can see in, and it’s not very deep even a good bit out. No giant waves like at North and McGee.
    There are bathrooms and showers and even little shade huts spread out all over the beach for people to use
    It does cost $10 to drive in or $40 for a year pass. Great place to spend the day
    ✭✭✭✭✭ By Brittany (5 months ago)
    Had a great time with my family. There is a small part of the beach that allows for dogs too.

    The water was warm and clean. A person can wade out for about 150 yards at least. So if you’re looking for shallow water it’s great.

    ✭✭✭✭✭ By Paul Maletsky (7 months ago)

Padre Island National Seashore

  • Address: 20420 Park Rd 22, Corpus Christi, TX 78418, United States
  • Map: Click here
  • Rating: 4.8 (1587)
  • Phone: +1 361-949-8069
  • Website: Link
  • Opening hours:
    Monday: 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM
    Tuesday: 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM
    Wednesday: 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM
    Thursday: 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM
    Friday: 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM
    Saturday: 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM
    Sunday: 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Reviews:
    Nice quiet location. Clean beach. The gift shop is small but there was a nice selection of postcards and magnets. The people working in the shop were extremely friendly and had helpful information for us. The seagulls on the beach appeared to be more cautious around people than at other local locations. The young man in the booth at the entrance was always very personable! Nice group of employees overall.
    ✭✭✭✭ By Frank Ragsdale (2 months ago)
    We love to come here and walk the beach. This time the sand was firm so we drove a few miles south, parked, and then walked 10 miles on the beach. What a great experience. Very quiet for an early November Saturday.

    Nice picnic area by the windsurfing.

    Friendly staff in the visitor center.

    One surprise was solid-identification twice for a Common Black Hawk which is supposedly extremely rare in this area.

    ✭✭✭✭✭ By Phil R (a month ago)
    A beautiful spot. Busy on a Saturday morning but we were able to find an empty area to sit. Spent the whole day there, beautiful view. Lovely water.
    Did see lots of Blue Buttons and Man-o-wars, but no one got stung.
    No one left any trash behind during our visit so that’s always nice to see. Everyone around us was friendly and no one was blasting loud music, wonderful experience.
    The showers in the visitor center were closed but there are some in the parking lot too so no issues
    $10 to get in unless you have the year pass or free for military.
    Check their schedule too, sometimes you can come watch a turtle hatchling release
    ✭✭✭✭✭ By Brittany (5 months ago)
    It is amazing seashore, you can drive 110 km!!! And camp on the ocean shore.
    The sad part, as you go further and further more and more trash on the beach, humanity are shocking!!!
    For entrance you need to have Annual pass, or pay fee for day use (I believe 10$) and for camping about 12$. So it’s not like free camping. But experience is amazing!
    ✭✭✭✭✭ By Road Trip Catchers (a month ago)
    You want solitude? Open spaces? Fresh air, sun, and sea? No better place in the whole state. Note, the primitive camping is truly primitive: there is zero infrastructure on the beach so you are 100% self-supported. Be smart.
    ✭✭✭✭✭ By Ryan Burns (3 months ago)

Rockport Beach

  • Address: 210 Seabreeze Dr, Rockport, TX 78382, United States
  • Map: Click here
  • Rating: 4.6 (1522)
  • Phone: +1 361-729-6661
  • Website: Link
  • Opening hours:
    Monday: 6:00 AM – 11:00 PM
    Tuesday: 6:00 AM – 11:00 PM
    Wednesday: 6:00 AM – 11:00 PM
    Thursday: 6:00 AM – 11:00 PM
    Friday: 6:00 AM – 12:00 AM
    Saturday: 6:00 AM – 12:00 AM
    Sunday: 6:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Reviews:
    This is a very very nice place!! My husband and I are visiting Rockport on vacation from Austin. Our hotel is right across the bay which we can actually see from the window. It is a beautiful little beach. Everything was pretty peaceful and we enjoyed ourselves quite a lot. We went there several times during our stay. Early this morning we went to watch the sunrise. It was lovely!! There was even a boat out already and we were able to get some fantastic pictures! Great experience!!
    ✭✭✭✭✭ By Lisa Sapp (2 months ago)
    We have lived in Rockport for a year now and we go to the beach all the time. We go for early morning walks. Sometimes we just pop in to look at the water for a few minutes. Sometimes we just sit in the sand for a while. This was the first time I fished in this location. It was a great day for fishing and one of the best I have had anywhere. It is our favorite place in Rockport.
    ✭✭✭✭✭ By Jason Whitcanack (2 months ago)
    Pretty nice little beach. It was crowded (on a Saturday so expected) and we parked in the area right before the gate where you have to pay for parking. I liked that it was a very short walk from the car to the beach…great for seniors. Restrooms were further down but not a big deal unless you are staying more than a couple of hours.
    ✭✭✭✭ By QuietOne InAtl (5 months ago)
    Always love to bring the kids here to swim and fish lots of space for everyone…does have an entrance fee of 10.00 for all day pass. We did go on the weekend of the kite festival is was more crowded than usual but still enjoyed everything….side note port a potties are cleaner than the building bathrooms if that makes any sense?
    ✭✭✭✭ By Leslie Jasso (8 months ago)
    I am in love with this beach! First time I ever visit here and totally coming back soon! Super clean beach, warm summer water, people are very friendly.
    ✭✭✭✭✭ By SANDRA G (6 months ago)

Surfside Beach

  • Address: 206 Starfish St, Freeport, TX 77541, United States
  • Map: Click here
  • Rating: 4.6 (1043)

Quintana Beach County Park

  • Address: 330 5th St, Quintana, TX 77541, United States
  • Map: Click here
  • Rating: 4.5 (1031)

Rockport Beach

  • Address: Rockport Beach, Rockport, TX 78382, United States
  • Map: Click here
  • Rating: 4.6 (264)

Beach Access #16 – Neptune Circle

  • Address: South Padre Island, TX 78597, United States
  • Map: Click here
  • Rating: 4.7 (247)

Quintana Beach

  • Address: 898 2nd St, Quintana, TX 77541, United States
  • Map: Click here
  • Rating: 4.5 (232)

Twin Points Beach

  • Address: Twin Points Beach, Texas 76135, United States
  • Map: Click here
  • Rating: 4.5 (77)

North Beach Camping

  • Address: N Beach Access Rd, Corpus Christi, TX 78418, United States
  • Map: Click here
  • Rating: 4.8 (76)
One of the most beautiful beaches in Texas
One of the most beautiful beaches in Texas

That’s it for our list of the best beaches in Texas! If you have any arguments or additional information, please leave a comment. We love to hear from our readers. And don’t forget to check out some of the other posts on our blog for more travel inspiration. Happy beachcombing!

Leave Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *